Umaidpur became a part of Samastipur district, when Darbhanga district was split into three districts in 1972. Before British, the mention of this district in the Imperial Gazetteer of India (volume 11) goes back to A. D. 1400.[5] When this area was taken over by the British in 1765, it was included in Silbah Bihar and formed with the greater part of Muzaffarpur District, the Sarkar of Tirhut. Bihar was retained as an independent revenue division, and in 1782 Tirhut (including Hajipur) was made into a Collectorate. In 1875 Tirhut was divided into the two existing Districts of Muzaffarpur and Darbhanga.[5] The governance of the Umiadpur village is run through community development block program administered by a Morwa Block Development Officer,[32] Morwa Dakshin Panchayat headed by Mukhiya, and a local administrative unit at the village level. The law enforcement is provided by Tajpur Police Station. The village is under the civial jurisdiction of Samastipur district.[33] Umaidpur village is a part of Morwa (Vidhan Sabha constituency) and the current member of this constituency of Bihar Legislative Assembly is Vidya Sagar Singh Nishad of JD(U).[34] Lok Sabha Constituency of Umaidpur village is No. 22 Ujiarpur (Lok Sabha constituency). The Lok Sabha member is Nityanand Rai, Bharatiya Janta Party